Yumi Zouma Announce Debut Album, Yoncalla, Out May 27th On Cascine


12 April 2016

Yumi Zouma recently announced their debut album, Yoncalla, along with the first single, “Keep It Close To Me.” The record is due May 27th on Cascine (and Arch Hill in Australia and Rallye in Japan). The band will embark on a tour in support of Yoncalla that stretches across New Zealand, North America, Europe, and Japan starting next month.
 
Where Yumi Zouma’s previous EPs were created in isolation, capturing the nuances of each member’s life half a world away, the new material was given a singular voice. “Yumi Zouma has always been an exercise in refining ideas and collaborating,” reflects guitarist Charlie Ryder, “but this was the first time we weren’t limited or protected by distance. With Yoncalla, the process was different, and it can be scary to present raw ideas to your friends ‐ but it’s also incredible to see songs evolve through the sparks of inspiration that bounce between people in the same room.” That intimacy is apparent on Yoncalla ‐ an album about being close to people, rather than miles apart. Yumi Zouma’s effortless waves of harmony have been redefined and the creative process laid bare to expose an act more unguarded and interconnected than ever before.
 
Additionally, Yoncalla sees Yumi Zouma continue their tradition of creating collectable vinyl releases, with the new album including a limited grey 7” that includes two studio outtakes from album’s recording sessions. The 7” will be bundled with the first 500 copies of the Yoncalla 12”.  These outtakes are exclusive to the limited edition vinyl and will not appear digitally.
 
To capture the concepts on Yoncalla, New Zealand visual artist Henrietta Harris was tapped to create the cover art, illustrating the band together on a front cover for the first time. Each member’s portrait is hand‐drawn, but without the individual characteristics that previously separated them. Check out the album art above. 
 
Stream “Keep It Close To Me” below and check out a full list of upcoming tour dates.

YUMI ZOUMA TOUR DATES:
Wed. May 4 - Christchurch, NZ @ Blue Smoke (w/ Doprah) (tickets)
Thu. May 5 - Dunedin, NZ @ Re Fuel (w/ Doprah) (tickets)
Fri. May 6 - Auckland, NZ @ The Crystal Palace (w/ Doprah) (tickets)
Sat. May. 7 - Wellington, NZ @ Meow (w/ Doprah) (tickets)
Wed. May 25 - San Francisco, CA @ Brick + Mortar (w/ Maria Usbeck)
Thu. May 26 - Los Angeles, CA @ Los Globos (w/ Maria Usbeck) (tickets)
Sat. May 28 - Brooklyn, NY @ National Sawdust (w/ Maria Usbeck)
Thu. June 2 - Boston, MA @ Middle East (Upstairs)
Wed. June 8 - Washington, DC @ DC9
Fri. June 10 - Montreal, QC @ Brasserie Beaubien
Sat. June 11 - Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Tue. June 21 - London, UK @ Moth Club (tickets)
Wed. June 22 - Paris, FR @ Point Ephémère (tickets)
Thu. June 23 - Amsterdam, NL @ Sugar Factory Small Hall (tickets)
Fri. June 24 - Berlin, DE @ Karrera Klub Birthday Bash at Bi Nuu (tickets)
Mon. September 12 - Tokyo, Japan @ WWW 
Tues. September 13 - Nagoya, Japan @ Tokuzo
Weds. September 14 - Osaka, Japan @ Pangea

For more information please visit: http://www.yumizouma.com/

 




Tags:

Suggested Articles:



ALBUM OF THE MONTH

AUGUST 2017

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

VIDEO SPOTLIGHT




S&S PLAYLISTS